PRE-FALL 2014 – AMERICANS COME OUT ON TOP

I was looking through my favorite looks and a strange thing happened, everything I liked was considered to be American, yes they are all different ethnicities, but shown mostly in NYC. Maybe it’s me getting my US Passport finally, that has me feeling patriotic, or maybe American designers are just having a moment. Either way, I am really feeling the laid back attitude, preppy done in a new way, and luxury combined with sportiness. My standouts are the following:

Michael Kors – camel strikes again into an easy elegance, somehow he hits the right notes where not only does he makes women look good, he also makes them feel good by making comfortable clothes using luxurious fabrics.

ImageImage

Prabal Gurung is experimenting with a new shape away form the body plus this little tail covering the pants, I found the look most interesting to me. Something that is easily done, still practical, yet hits the new note I am looking for.

Image

Donna Karan is known for her stretchy dresses and lately I have been looking into high slits and she really nailed it. It’s not overtly sexy, it’s not screaming about it, it’s merely suggesting.

Image

Jason Wu was really inspired by Riccardo Tisci and his latest collections for Givenchy to give us this tribal woman meets city chic. But what made me pay attention were the pants, they made sense with the pointy heels and the long sweater. I haven’t seen them in such a long time that it’s the right time to bring them back, I would buy.

Image

But the star of the show for me was Altuzarra. He is reinventing american preppy and making the more fashionable crowd pay attention. He is elevating this tired look to something a lot more interesting than just polo shirts and plaid. I am loving his proportions, cleaner lines, with enough americana to recognize the roots of his thoughts but not get lost in it. This is so new and now to me, I’m a big fan and will be watching closely where he will take his label in the future.

ImageImageImage

all photos from style.com

Leave a Reply

